Shares the Knowledge !

Awards and Titles ( First in India) :

Award / Title Person
Mr. Universe Monotosh Roy in 1952
Miss Universe Sushmita Sen in 1994
Mister World Rohit Khandelwal; first Asian to win Mister World
Miss World Reita Faria in 1966; also the first Asian to win the title
Mrs. World Aditi Gowitrikar in 2001
Miss World Amber Mala Rai Singani in 1978
Miss world diversity Naaz Joshi in 2017, 2018, 2019
Miss World Tourism Sonal Chauhan in 2005.
Miss Tourism Priyanka Shah in 2007
Miss Tourism Queen International Zabina Abdul Rashid Khan in 2004
Miss Tourism International Candice Pinto in 2001
Miss Tourism International (China version) Parul Bindal in 2014
Miss India Worldwide Karminder Kaur Virk in 1994
Miss Intercontinental Lara Dutta in 1997
Mr. International Aryan Vaid in 2000
Manhunt International Rajeev Singh in 2001
Miss Asia Pacific Zeenat Aman in 1970
Miss Asia Pacific World Himangini Singh Yadu in 2012
International Teen Princess Radha Bartake in 1974
Miss Teenages Intercontinental Elizabeth Anita Reddi in 1978
World Miss University Priyadarshini Pradhan in 1989
Best Model of the World Siddharth Shukla in 2005
Miss Earth Nicole Faria in 2010
Miss Supranational Asha Bhat in 2014
Miss Universal Peace and Humanity Ruhi Singh in 2014
Mister United Nations Rahul Vyas in 2013
Ms United Nations Amiiee (Amisha) Chaudhary Verma in 2017
Mrs United Nations Classic Neepa Singh in 2017
Mrs United Nations Roshni Hassan in 2017
Mister Supranational Prathamesh Maulingkar in 2018
First Indian to win any literary award Dhan Gopal Mukerji received the Newbery Medal in the United States, in 1927 for Gay Neck, the Story of a Pigeon
First ever Miss World to win Beauty with a Purpose award Manushi Chhillar.
First Indian to win a major non-fiction award Nirad C. Chaudhuri received the Duff Cooper Prize in the United Kingdom, in 1966 for The Continent of Circe
Man Booker Prize Arundhati Roy for her novel The God of Small Things in 1997
First Indian to speak as orator Bhaswati Bhattacharya spoke at Harvard University, in the commencement exercises in 1993.
Bharat Ratna Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, C. Rajagopalachari, and C. V. Raman in 1954
Padma Vibhushan Satyendra Nath Bose, Nand Lal Bose, Zakir Hussain, Balasaheb Gangadhar Kher, Jigme Dorji Wangchuk, V. K. Krishna Menon in 1954
Param Vir Chakra Major Somnath Sharma
Commander of the Order of Arts and Letters Mrinal Sen
Chevalier of the Order of Arts and Letters Sivaji Ganesan
Dadasaheb Phalke Award Devika Rani in 1969
Ashoka Chakra Award to a civilian D.K. Jatar (posthumous) and M.C Dixit, captain and co-captain respectively, of the sabotaged plane Kashmir Princess, for "most conspicuous bravery, daring and self-sacrifice"
Magsaysay Award Vinoba Bhave, 1958
Stalin Peace Prize (now known as Lenin Peace Prize) in 1952 Saifuddin Kitchlew
Oscar for Lifetime Achievement Satyajit Ray
Nishan-e-Pakistan Morarji Desai, 1990

Last updated on: 19/11/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>