Shares the Knowledge !


During the period of the Company rule in India and the British Raj, the Commander-in-Chief was the supreme commander of the British Indian Army.

Following the Partition of India in 1947 and the creation of the independent dominions of India and Pakistan, the post was abolished.

It was briefly replaced by the position of Supreme Commander of India and Pakistan before the role was abolished in November 1948.

Field Marshal "Sir Claude Auchinleck" was the last Commander-in-Chief of India.

Subsequently, the role of Commander-in-Chief was merged into the offices of the Commanders-in-Chief of the independent Indian Army and Pakistan Army, respectively, before becoming part of the office of the President of India from 1950, of the Commander-in-Chief of the Pakistan Army from 1947.

Prior to independence, the official residence was the Flagstaff House, which later became the residence of the first Prime Minister of India; as Teen Murti Bhavan (Teen Murti House), it is now a museum.



Post a Comment

Popular Posts