Shares the Knowledge !

Dadasaheb Phalke Award

The Dadasaheb Phalke Award is India's highest award in cinema presented annually at the National Film Awards ceremony by the Directorate of Film Festivals, an organisation set up by the Ministry of Information and Broadcasting.

The recipient is honoured for their "outstanding contribution to the growth and development of Indian cinema" and is selected by a committee consisting of eminent personalities from the Indian film industry.

It was instituted in 1969, the birth centenary year of Dadasaheb Phalke, considered as the "the father of Indian cinema", was an Indian filmmaker who directed India's first full-length feature film, Raja Harishchandra.

The award for a particular year is given during the end of the following year along with the National Film Awards. 

The award comprises a Swarna Kamal (golden lotus) medallion, a cash prize of INR 1 million and a shawl.

The first recipient of the award was actress Devika Rani, who was honoured at the 17th National Film Awards.

The Bombay High Court had directed the Directorate of Film Festivals, India (DFFI) to consider uncensored films for the competition, a case which DFFI contested and won in the Supreme Court in late 2006. The case had delayed announcement of the award for 2006, which was announced in the middle of 2008.

List of award recipients by year :

Year Awardee Occupation
1969 Devika Rani Chaudhuri Roerich Actress
1970 B. N. Sircar Producer
1971 Prithviraj Kapoor Actor
1972 Pankaj Mullick Music Director
1973 Ruby Myers (Sulochana) Actress
1974 Bommireddy Narasimha Reddy Director
1975 Dhirendranath Ganguly Actor, Director
1976 Kanan Devi Actress
1977 Nitin Bose Cinematographer, Director, Screenwriter
1978 Rai Chand Boral Music Director, Director
1979 Sohrab Modi Actor, Director, Producer
1980 Paidi Jairaj Actor, Director
1981 Naushad Ali Music Director
1982 L. V. Prasad Actor, Director, Producer
1983 Durga Khote Actress
1984 Satyajit Ray Director
1985 V. Shantaram Actor, Director, Producer
1986 Bommireddy Nagi Reddy Producer
1987 Raj Kapoor Actor, Director
1988 Ashok Kumar Actor
1989 Lata Mangeshkar Playback Singer
1990 Akkineni Nageswara Rao Actor
1991 Bhalji Pendharkar Director, Producer, Screenwriter
1992 Bhupen Hazarika Director
1993 Majrooh Sultanpuri Lyricist
1994 Dilip Kumar Actor
1995 Rajkumar Actor, Singer
1996 Sivaji Ganesan Actor
1997 Pradeep Lyricist
1998 B. R. Chopra Director, Producer
1999 Hrishikesh Mukherjee Director
2000 Asha Bhosle Playback Singer
2001 Yash Chopra Director, Producer
2002 Dev Anand Actor, Director, Producer
2003 Mrinal Sen Director
2004 Adoor Gopalakrishnan Director
2005 Shyam Benegal Director
2006 Tapan Sinha Director
2007 Manna Dey Playback Singer
2008 V. K. Murthy Cinematographer
2009 D. Ramanaidu Producer
2010 K. Balachander Director
2011 Soumitra Chatterjee Actor
2012 Pran Actor
2013 Gulzar Lyricist
2014 Shashi Kapoor Actor
2015 Manoj Kumar Actor
2016 Kasinathuni Viswanath Director
2017 Vinod Khanna Actor
2018 Amitabh Bachchan Actor

Last updated on: 24/10/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>