Shares the Knowledge !

December 2010 Awards

Agri Journalism - 2010 awards established in the name of I.V. Subbarao declared the winners of this year. Sakshi journalist, D. Shyamsundara Reddy selected for his contributions in agricultural journalism

Indian actress Katrina Kaif voted as the sexiest woman in the world. This is the third consecutive time Katrina won the award from British magazine Eastern Eye. 

MCX Stock Exchange and CNBC TV18 jointly organised the 'India Business Leaders Awards (IBLA) 2010' in Mumbai. Finance Minister Pranab Mukherjee presented the awards to Mukesh Ambani and Chanda Kocchar.

Chemplast Sanmar won two national awards for its efficiency on water management. Chemplast Sanmar won the awards for the successful case study of zero liquid discharge at Mettur Plant. The National Award for Excellence in Water Management was organised by Confederation of Indian Industry (CII) in Hyderabad.

Telenos in association with The KNOW Network selected Infosys Technologies as the winner of the prestigious global, Asian and Indian Most Admired Knowledge Enterprises (MAKE) Award.

Suggu Sai Akhil a first year Intermediate student of Guntur won the silver medal at International Junior Science Olympiad held at Abuja, Abiya in Nigeria.

Mark Zuckerberg the founder of The Facebook social networking site was named as the 'Person of the Year' by Time Magazine for the year of 2010. The honour will be presented to those who for better or for worse do the most influencing events of the year.

Dr. Pinnamaneni and Smt. Seethadevi Foundation Award for 2010 presented to world renowned percussionist Ustad Zakir Hussain in Vijayawada. The award, which carries a citation and Rs.5 lakh in cash were presented by the elder son of Dr. Pinnamaneni, PRK Prasad to Zakir Hussain.

Prime Minister Manmohan Singh presented the SCOPE (Standing Conference of Public Enterprises) award and MOU Awards for the year 2008-09. SCOPE Awards are presented for excellence and outstanding contribution to public sector management.

David Perlman Award of American Geophysical Union was awarded to Pallava Bagla for excellence in science journalism on impact of climate change on Himalayan glaciers. Bagla is working for NDTV as science editor.

Bio Spectrum Journal from Cyber media presented their awards for 2010. Karnataka state won the Bio Spectrum Biotech State of the Year Award and Biocon Limited Chairman Kiran Mazumdar Shaw bagged the Bio Spectrum Leadership Award. Nuziveedu Seeds from Andhra Pradesh has won the Bio Agri Company Award.

India-China Friendship Award was presented to G. Viswanathan, Chancellor of Vellore Institute of Technology University by Chinese Premier Wen Jiabao. The award is presented in recognition of significant contributions to promote China-India friendship. VIT is the first institute in the country to start an official Chinese Language Centre in the country.

Dr. I.V. Subba Rao Agri Journalism Awards - 2010 presented by Union Minister of State for Human Resources Development D. Purandeswarai to the winners at Hyderabad.

The power plant and Ferro alloy plant of Nava Bharat Ventures Limited at Paloncha bagged the national award for excellence in water management, 2010 from Confederation of Indian Industry.

Professor Wei Zhang, a Benjamin Pierce Instructor at the Department of Mathematics, Harvard University received the SASTRA-Ramanujam Award. The award was instituted by the Shanmugha Arts Science Technology and Research Academy (SASTRA) University to encourage path-breaking research in Ramanujan Mathematics for 2010.

Indian Boxer Vijender Singh received the 'Most Valuable Performance Award' from Samsung at a felicitation function for Gangzhou Asian Games.

Tata Nano received the worlds oldest and most coveted Good Design Award for 2010. The Chicago Athenaeum: Museum of Architecture and Design together with The European Centre for Architecture Art Design and Urban Studies conferrers the award annually.

The 10 day 41st International Film Festival of India (IFFI) held in Goa ended. The Best Film award goes to 'Moner Manush' directed by Gautam Ghose to receive the Golden Peacock.

The best self-employed speech and hearing impairment national award was presented by President Pratibha Patil to the winner Rekha Patri of Andhra Pradesh

Eminent Percussionist Zakir Hussain will receive this year's prestigious Dr.Pinnnamaneni and Smt.Seethadevi Foundation award.

Chinese dissident Liu Xiaobo was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize in absentia at an Oslo ceremony derided by Beijing as a political farce, and he dedicated it from his prison cell to the "Lost Souls" of the 1989 Tiananmen Square crackdown.

The Motor Cycle Display team of the Army Service Corps (ASC) also known as Tornadoes broke two world records to achieve a distance of 1,100 metres with 54 persons on a single moving 500 CC Enfield motorcycle by covering a distance of 925 metres. 

Irish writer Rowan Somerville won the Literary Review magazine's Bad Sex in Fiction award for his novel, The Shape of Her. The Bad Sex in Fiction award was set up by British writer and journalist Auberon Waugh in 1993.

The five day event of Asian Film festival was inaugurated in Tenali, Andhra Pradesh by Federation of Film Societies of India (FFSI). This is the first time that the film festival is being held in Tenali. 

Nicole Faria of India won the Miss Earth Talent 2010 after leaving 17 other contestants behind in the talent show held at Ho Chi Minh City in Vietnam. Nicole Faria, a 20-year-old girl lives in Bangalore.



Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>