Shares the Knowledge !

Deputy Prime Ministers of India

The Deputy Prime Minister of India is a member of the Union Council of Ministers in the Government of India.

A deputy prime minister usually also holds a cabinet portfolio such as home minister or finance minister.

In the parliamentary system of government, the prime minister is treated as the "first among equals" in the cabinet. The position of deputy prime minister is used to bring political stability and strength within a coalition government or in times of national emergency, when a proper chain of command is necessary.

The first deputy prime minister was Vallabhbhai Patel, who was also home minister in Jawaharlal Nehru's cabinet. He occupied the post for 3 years until his death in 1950.

L. K. Advani served as the seventh deputy prime minister in Atal Bihari Vajpayee's cabinet from 2002 to 2004. The post has been vacant since 2004.

Name Period
1. Sardar Vallav Bhai Patel 1947 - 1950
2. Morarji Desai 1967 -1969
3. Choudhary Charan Singh and Jagjivan Ram (jointly) 1979
4. Yashwantrao Chavan 1979 - 1980
5. Chaudhari Devi Lal 1989 - 1990
6. Chaudhari Devi Lal 1990 - 1991
7. Lal Krishna Advani 2002 - 2004

Last updated on: 29/10/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>