Shares the Knowledge !

February 2010 Awards

Prabhakar Mandara has won the Sahitya Akademi Translation Prize 2009 for translating Yagati Chinna Rao's research book, '' Dalit struggle for Identity" into Telugu by the name Andhra Pradesh Dalita Udyama Charitra.

John Flannery, President CEO, GE India was presented the Indo-US Business Cooperation Award.

Veteran Congress leader G. Venkataswamy was presented the 'Eashwari Bai Memorial Award' by the Governor of Andhra Pradesh E.S.L. Narasimham.

Eminent Journalist Sanjoy Hazarika has been awarded the Dr. Jean Mayer Award for Global Citizenship by the U.S. - based Tufts University for his contribution to the north - east of India, initiatives in health and governance.

Social worker Ela Bhatt, who set up the self - Employed Women's Association (SEWA) has been chosen for the 27th Niwano Peace Prize for her contribution to the uplift of poor women.

British Academy of Film and Television Art's (BAFTA) awards
Best Film - The Hurt Locker
Actor - Colin Firth (A single Man)
Best Actor - Colin Firth (A single Man)
Best Actress - Carey Mulligan (An Education)

Dr. V.K.Saraswat, Scientific Adviser to defence Minister and Director - General of DRDO will be presented the Dr.Y.Nayudamma Memorial Award for 2009 for his outstanding contribution to India's defence research and development.

W. Selvamurthy, chief controller (Life Sciences and Human Resource), Defence Research and Development Organisation (DRDO), has been chosen for the DRDO's Technology Leadership Award for 2008 instituted by the DRDO.

Actor Amitabh Bachchan, Carnatic musician Balamurali Krishna, ISRO chairman K.Radhakrishnan and Minister of state for external Affairs Shashi Tharoor were presented the Pazhassi Raja charitable Trust Awards 2009 by the President Pratibha Patil.

Bhilai Steel plant was presented the Prime Minister's trophy for the best integrated steel plant.

11th Mumbai International Film Festival of Documentary, Animation and short films
  • Russain director Alexander Gutman's 17 August won the Golden Conch for the best Documentary.
  • The Spell, Directed by Umesh Kulkarni was adjudged the best fiction film. 

    Andhra Pradesh Governor E.S.L. Narasimhan presented 'The Lifetime Achievement in Science Award', instituted by B.M. Birla Science Centre, to Nobel Laureate Anthony James Leggett.

    Oscar winner A.R. Rahman won two Grammy awards.
    1. Jai Ho - Best song written for motion pictures, TV and other visual media.
    2. Best soundtrack for the film Slum dog Millionaire. 

      Social activist and actor Nafisa Ali and Kiran Bedi, the first woman IPS officer in the country received the Kalpana Chawla Excellence Awards 2010.



      Post a Comment

      Upsc - Civils Preparation

      Exam Strategy
      Tips and Tricks
      Preparation and Guidance
      Optional Subjects - Preparation
      Optional Subjects - Guidance
      Many more >>

      Bank Exams Preparation

      Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
      Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
      Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
      Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
      Many more >>

      Computer Knowledge

      History, Generations, Terminology
      Hardware, Software, Internet
      Networks, Shortcut Keys
      Many more >>

      Interview Preparation

      General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
      Entry and Dressing up
      How to prepare?, Qualities judged
      Many more >>