Shares the Knowledge !

October 2010 Awards

  • C.P. Brown Academy, Hyderabad, is presenting ‘Telugu Bharati Puraskaramu-2010‘to Prof. Kolakaluri Enoch. He was the former Vice Chancellor of S.V. University. 

  • Sachin Tendulkar received ‘The Libara People’s Choice Award’ at the Asian Awards-2010 held in London. As part of the Ceremony, UB Group Chairman, Vijay Mallya received the ‘Entrepreneur of The Year’ award, Ratan Tata bagged the ‘ Social Entrepreneur of the Year ‘ and Bharati Enterprises Chairman Sunil Mittal won the ‘Philanthropist of the Year’ award. 

  • Lanco Infratech got the 8th Construction World (CW) Annual Award in the category of fastest growing construction company. 

  • The Infosys Science Foundation Established by Infosys Technologies Ltd, announced the winners in five categories of the Infosys Prize 2010.
    Mathematical Science

    Prof. Chandrashekhar Khare (University of California)
    Physical Science

    Prof. Sandip Trivedi (Tata institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
    Engineering and Computer Science

    Ashutosh Sharma (IIT-Kanpur)
    Life Sciences

    Chetan E. Chitnis (International Centre For Genetic Engineering and Biotechnology, New Delhi)
    Social Science

    Amit Baviskar (Indian Institute of Economics, Delhi )
    Nandini Sundar (Delhi School of Economics).
    Prize carries a cash award of Rs.50 lakh.

  • Sri Venkateshwara University has announced honorary doctorate on ISRO Chairman K.Radhakrishnan. 

  • Prime Minister Manmohan Singh Presented the TWAS 2010 medal to Toorres-Peimbert of Mixico at the 21st TWAS-2010 Conference at HIcc in Hyderabad. Around 350 Scientists and Researchers from 50 developing countries TWAS meeting. 

  • The AP Transco has bagged the “best performing utility award of the 4th ENERTIA AWARDS -2010 for achieving lowest transmission and distribution losses in the country and for maintaining impressively high transmission system availability. 

  • Nobel Prizes 2010:

    The Nobel Prize in Physiology or Medicine 2010 was awarded to Robert G. Edwards "for the development of in vitro fertilization".

    The Nobel Prize in Physics 2010 was awarded jointly to Andre Geim and Konstantin Novoselov "for groundbreaking experiments regarding the two-dimensional material graphene"

    The Nobel Prize in Chemistry 2010 was awarded jointly to Richard F. Heck, Ei-ichi Negishi and Akira Suzuki "for palladium-catalyzed cross couplings in organic synthesis".

    The Nobel Prize in Literature 2010 was awarded to Mario Vargas Llosa "for his cartography of structures of power and his trenchant images of the individual's resistance, revolt, and defeat".

    The Nobel Peace Prize 2010 was awarded to Liu Xiaobo "for his long and non-violent struggle for fundamental human rights in China".

    The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel 2010 was awarded jointly to Peter A. Diamond, Dale T. Mortensen and Christopher A. Pissarides "for their analysis of markets with search frictions".

  • President Pratibha Patil presented the prestigious Lal Bahadur Shastri National Award for Excellence in Public Administration, Academia and Management to Aruna Roy, social and political activist, at the Rashtrapati Bhavan.



Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>