Shares the Knowledge !

Padma Bhushan

Padma Bhushan
Padma Bhushan India IIe Klasse.jpg
First awarded1954
Total awarded94
Awarded byGovernment of India
Previous name(s)Padma Vibhushan "Dusra Warg" (Class II)
ObverseA centrally located lotus flower is embossed and the text "Padma" written in Devanagari script is placed above and the text "Bhushan" is placed below the lotus.
ReverseA platinum Emblem of India placed in the centre with the national motto of India, "Satyameva Jayate" (Truth alone triumphs) in Devanagari Script
RibbonIND Padma Bhushan BAR.png

The Padma Bhushan is the third highest civilian award in the Republic of India, after the Bharat Ratna and the Padma Vibhushan, but comes before the Padma Shri.

It is awarded by the Government of India.

The award was established on 2nd January 1954 by the President of India.

It is awarded to recognize distinguished service of a high order to the nation, in any field. As of January 2010, 1111 people have thus far received the award.



Post a Comment

Popular Posts