Shares the Knowledge !

Prime Ministers of India

The Prime Minister of India (Bhārat Pradhānamaṃtrī) is the leader of the executive of the Government of India.

The prime minister is also the chief adviser to the President of India and head of the Council of Ministers. They can be a member of any of the two houses of the Parliament of India — the Lok Sabha (House of the People) and the Rajya Sabha (Council of the States)—but has to be a member of the political party or coalition, having a majority in the Lok Sabha.

The prime minister is the senior-most member of cabinet in the executive of government in a parliamentary system. The prime minister selects and can dismiss members of the cabinet; allocates posts to members within the government; and is the presiding member and chairperson of the cabinet.

The Union Cabinet headed by the prime minister is appointed by the President of India to assist the latter in the administration of the affairs of the executive. Union cabinet is collectively responsible to the Lok Sabha as per article 75(3) of the Constitution of India.

The first Prime Minister was Jawaharlal Nehru of the Indian National Congress party, who was sworn in on 15 August 1947, when India gained independence from the British Raj. Serving until his death in May 1964, Nehru remains India's longest-serving prime minister.

List of Prime Ministers of India :

Name Period
Jawaharlal Nehru August 15, 1947 to May 27, 1964
Gulzarilal Nanda May 27, 1964 to June 9, 1964
Lal Bahadur Shastri June 9, 1964 to January 11, 1966
Gulzarilal Nanda January 11, 1966 to January 24, 1966
Indira Gandhi January 24, 1966 to March 24, 1977
Morarji Desai March 24, 1977 to July 28, 1979
Choudhary Charan Singh July 28, 1979 to January 14, 1980
Indira Gandhi January 14, 1980 to October 31, 1984
Rajiv Gandhi October 31, 1984 to December 2, 1989
Vishwanath Pratap Singh December 2, 1989 to November 10, 1990
Chandra Shekhar November 10, 1990 to June 21, 1991
P. V. Narasimha Rao June 21, 1991 to May 16, 1996
Atal Behari Vajpayee May 16, 1996 to June 1, 1996
H. D. Deve Gowda June 1, 1996 to April 21, 1997
Inder Kumar Gujral April 21, 1997 to March 19, 1998
Atal Behari Vajpayee March 19, 1998 to May 22, 2004
Dr. Manmohan Singh May 22, 2004 to May 26, 2014
Mr. Narendra Modi May 26, 2014 to till date

Last updated on: 29/10/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>