Shares the Knowledge !

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna

The Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna (RGKR) is India’s highest honour given for achievement in sports.

The words "Khel Ratna" literally mean "Sports Gem" in Hindi.

The award is named after the late Rajiv Gandhi, former Prime Minister of India.

As of 2018, the award comprises a medallion, a certificate, and a cash prize of ₹7.5 lakh (US$11,000).

The award was instituted in the year 1991-92 to supply the lack of a supreme national accolade in the field of sports.

A twelve-member committee evaluates the performances of a sportsperson at various International events like Olympic Games, Paralympic Games, Asian Games, and Commonwealth Games. The committee later submits their recommendations to the Union Minister of Youth Affairs and Sports for further approval.

The first recipient of the award was Chess Grandmaster Viswanathan Anand, who was honoured for the performance in the year 1991–92.

The Khel Ratna was devised to be an overarching honour, conferred for outstanding sporting performance, whether by an individual or a team, across all sporting disciplines in a given year.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awardees :

Year Name of the Sportsperson(s) Sport Discipline
1991-92 Viswanathan Anand Chess
1992-93 Geet Sethi Billiards
1993-94 Not Conferred* -
1994-95 Cdr. Homi D. Motivala (Joint) Yachting (Team Event)
1994-95 Lt. Cdr. P. K. Garg (Joint) Yachting (Team Event)
1995-96 Karnam Malleswari Weightlifting
1996-97 Nameirakpam Kunjarani (Joint) Weightlifting
1996-97 Leander Paes (Joint) Tennis
1997-98 Sachin Tendulkar Cricket
1998-99 Jyotirmoyee Sikdar Athletics
1999–2000 Dhanraj Pillay Hockey
2000-01 Pullela Gopichand Badminton
2001-02 Abhinav Bindra Shooting
2002-03 Anjali Ved Pathak Bhagwat(Joint) Shooting
2002-03 K. M. Beenamol (Joint) Athletics
2003-04 Anju Bobby George Athletics
2004-05 Lt. Col Rajyavardhan Singh Rathore Shooting
2005-06 Pankaj Advani Billiards and Snooker
2006-07 Manavjit Singh Sandhu Shooting
2007-08 Mahendra Singh Dhoni Cricket
2008-09 Mary Kom (Joint) Boxing
2008-09 Vijender Singh (Joint) Boxing
2008-09 Sushil Kumar (Joint) Wrestling
2009-10 Saina Nehwal Badminton
2010-11 Gagan Narang Shooting
2011-12 Vijay Kumar Shooting
2011-12 Yogeshwar Dutt Wrestling
2012-13 Ronjan Sodhi Shooting
2015Sania MirzaTennis
2016P. V. SindhuBadminton
2016Dipa KarmakarGymnastics
2016Jitu RaiShooting
2016Sakshi MalikWrestling
2017Devendra JhajhariaParalympic athletics
2017Sardara SinghHockey (Men)
2018Saikhom Mirabai ChanuWeightlifting
2018Virat KohliCricket
2019Deepa MalikParalympic
2019Bajrang PuniaFreestyle Wrestling

Last updated on: 24/10/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>