Shares the Knowledge !

September 2010 Persons

Veteran film maker K.B. Tilak, passed away at the age of 84. The veteran producer-director-actor was born in the West Godavari district in 1926, and made many films on social issues. K.B. was the nephew of the film legend, the late L.V. Prasad.

INSEAD, the leading international business school, has appointed Dipak C. Jain, Dean Emeritus of Kellogg School of Management at Northwestern University, as its next dean, succeeding J. Frank Brown, who will step down in 2011.

Israel granted honorary citizenship to Sandra Samuel, an Indian woman who braved gunfire to save an Israeli boy from the 2008 Mumbai terror attacks that killed both of his parents. 

Indian nuclear scientist Homi Sethna has died at the age 86. During his career Sethna held several posts including director of the Bhabha Atomic Research Centre and chairman of the Atomic Energy Commission. During his time with the AEC Sethna presided over India's nuclear experiment at Pokhran in 1974.

Arjun Munda was sworn in as Jharkhand chief minister heading a BJP-JMM coalition.

P.J. Thomas, former Telecom Secretary, was sworn in as 14th Central Vigilance Commissioner by the President of India

Sonia Gandhi was anonymously elected as the Chairperson of AICCC for the fourth time.

The state government appointed Senior IPS officer Aravind Rao as Director General of Police of Andhra Pradesh. He was 1977 batch IPS officer and was chief intelligence officer during YSR's tenure.

India`s top cricketer Sachin Tendulkar was conferred with Indian Air Force`s honorary rank of Group Captain on September 3, 2010.

In 2008, India`s World Cup winning captain Kapil Dev had received the honorary rank of Lieutenant Colonel of the Territorial Army. In 2009, Mohanlal was conferred with the honorary title of Lieutenant Colonel in the Territorial Army. Till date, 21 eminent personalities have been granted honorary ranks by the IAF, the first person being the Raja of Jawhar Raja Yashwant Rao, who was conferred the Flight Lieutenant rank in 1944. Industrialist J R D Tata was made an honorary Air Vice Marshal in 1974 and the last one to get such an honour in 1990 was industrialist-cum-aviator Vijaypat Singhania, who is now an honorary Air Commodore.

The government today released a five-rupee commemorative coin on Mother Teresa to mark the centenary birth celebrations of the legend who made serving the poor her mission in life.

Senior IPS officer R K Medhekar will be the new Director General of elite commando force -- National Security Guard. Medhekar, a 1975 batch officer of Kerala cadre, currently serving as Special Director General of Border Security Force.

Vineet Jain, Managing Director of the Times of India Group, was elected Chairman of the board of directors of the Press Trust of India.


Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>