Shares the Knowledge !

Speakers of the Lok Sabha

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha is the presiding officer of the Lok Sabha (House of the People), the lower house of the Parliament of India.

Serving for a term of five years, the speaker chosen from sitting members of the Lok Sabha (House of the People), and is by convention a member of the ruling party or alliance.

The date of election of the Speaker is fixed by the President. Newly elected Members of Parliament from the Lok Sabha elect the Speaker among themselves.

The Speaker of the Lok Sabha conducts the business in house, and decides whether a bill is a money bill or not.

They maintain discipline and decorum in the house and can punish a member for unruly behaviour by suspending them. They also permit the moving of various kinds of motions and resolutions such as a motion of no confidence, motion of adjournment, motion of censure and calling attention notice as per the rules. The Speaker decides on the agenda to be taken up for discussion during the meeting.

Further, all comments and speeches made by members of the House are addressed to the Speaker. The Speaker also presides over the joint sitting of both houses of the Parliament of India.

The counterpart of the Speaker in the Rajya Sabha (Council of the States) is its Chairperson; the Vice-President of India is the ex-officio chairperson of the Rajya Sabha.

On the order of precedence, the Speaker of Lok Sabha ranks sixth, along with the Chief Justice of India. The Speaker is answerable to the House.

Both the Speaker and Deputy Speaker may be removed by a resolution passed by the majority of the members.

Lok Sabha Speaker can be elected by President on nomination basis.

Name Term
From To Length Lok Sabha
Ganesh Vasudev Mavalankar 15 May 195227 February 19563 years, 288 days1st
M. A. Ayyangar 8 March 195610 May 19571 year, 63 days
11 May 195716 April 19624 years, 340 days2nd
Hukam Singh17 April 196216 March 19674 years, 333 days3rd
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy 17 March 196719 July 19692 years, 124 days4th
Gurdial Singh Dhillon8 August 196919 March 19711 year, 221 days
22 March 19711 December 19754 years, 254 days5th
Bali Ram Bhagat15 January 197625 March 19771 year, 69 days
Neelam Sanjiva Reddy26 March 197713 July 1977109 days6th
K. S. Hegde21 July 197721 January 19802 years, 184 days
Balram Jakhar22 January 198027 October 19843 years, 358 days7th
Balram Jakhar16 January 198518 December 19894 years, 336 days8th
Rabi Ray19 December 19899 July 19911 year, 202 days9th
Shivraj Patil10 July 199122 May 19964 years, 317 days10th
P. A. Sangma23 May 199623 March 19981 year, 304 days11th
G. M. C. Balayogi24 March 199819 October 19991 year, 209 days12th
22 October 19993 March 20022 years, 132 days13th
Manohar Joshi10 May 20022 June 20042 years, 23 days
Somnath Chatterjee4 June 200431 May 20094 years, 361 days14th
Meira Kumar4 June 20094 June 20145 years, 0 days15th
Sumitra Mahajan6 June 201416 June 20195 years, 10 days16th
Om Birla19 June 2019Incumbent   ------17th

Last updated on: 29/10/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>