Shares the Knowledge !

Andaman & Nicobar Islands

The Andaman and Nicobar Islands are a group of islands in the Bay of Bengal and a Union Territory of India.

The territory's capital is the Andamanese town of Port Blair.

The territory's population as per the most recent (2011) Census of India was 379,944. 

Added together, the total land area of the territory is approximately 6,496

After the evacuation of the Japanese in 1945, It became part of the Indian union in 1956.  It was declared a union territory on 1956.

The territory is located geographically 150 km north of Aceh in Indonesia and separated from Thailand and Burma by the Andaman Sea.

The Union Territory of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands, is situated between 6° and 14° North Latitude and 92° and 94° East Longitude. The islands located north of 10° north latitude are known as Andaman Group of islands while islands located south of 10° north latitude are called Nicobar Group of islands.

It comprises two island groups, the Andaman Islands and the Nicobar Islands, separated by the 10° N parallel, with the Andamans to the north of this latitude, and the Nicobars to the south. The Andaman Sea lies to the east and the Bay of Bengal to the west.

The climate of the islands can be defined as humid, tropical coastal climate.

The British used the islands as an isolated prison for members of the Indian independence movement. The mode of imprisonment was called Kala pani. The Cellular Jail in Port Blair was regarded as the "Siberia" of British India.

Pygmalion Point (also known as Parsons Point) which haas been renamed as 'Indira Point', is the southern most tip of India and not 'Kanyakumari' as is popularly believed.

Andaman and Nicobar Islands have been recognised as an eco-friendly tourist’s destination.

The Andaman Islands are home to the Sentinelese people, an uncontacted people. The Sentinelese are the only people currently known to not have reached further than a Paleolithic level of technology.

Andaman & Nicobar Islands
Area 8,249 sq. km
Population 3,79,944
Capital Port Blair
No. of  Districts 3
Principal Language Hindi, Nicobarese, Bengali, Tamil,
Malayalam, Telugu
Assembly seats None
Lok Sabha seats 1
Rajya Sabha seats None
Judiciary High Court of Kolkata
( a circuit Bench at Port Blair )
Mammal Dugong
Bird Andaman Wood Pigeon
Flower Pyinma
Tree Andaman Padauk

Last updated on: 04/11/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>