Shares the Knowledge !

Dadra and Nagar Haveli

Dadra and Nagar Haveli is a Union Territory in western India.

Nagar Haveli is wedged between Maharashtra and Gujarat, whereas Dadra is an enclave lying a few kilometres north of Nagar Haveli in Gujarat.

Its capital is Silvassa.

The territory lies some ten to thirty kilometres up-river from the city of Daman.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli are in the watershed of the Daman Ganga River, which flows through the territory.

The towns of Dadra and Silvassa both lie on the north bank of the river. The Western Ghats range rises to the east, and the foothills of the range occupy the eastern portion of the district.

The territory is landlocked, although the Arabian Sea coast lies just to the west in Gujarat.

The major spoken languages in the territory are Gujarati, Hindi and Marathi.

In 1783, Nagar-Haveli was given to the Portuguese as a compensation for the sinking of a Portuguese ship by the Maratha navy.

Then, in 1785 the Portuguese purchased Dadra. It was administered by the Portuguese Governor of Daman until 1954.

After India attained Independence in 1947, the residents of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, with the help of volunteers of organisations like the United Front of Goans (UFG), the Rashtriya Swayamsevak Sangh, the National Movement Liberation Organisation (NMLO) and the Azad Gomantak Dal liberated the territories of Dadra and Nagar Haveli from Portuguese rule in 1954.

From 1954 to 1961, the territory was administered by a body called the Varishta Panchayat of Free Dadra and Nagar Haveli.

In 1961 when Indian forces took over Goa, Daman, and Diu, Mr. Badlani was, for one day, designated the Prime Minister of Dadra and Nagar Haveli, so that, as Head of State, he could sign an agreement with the Prime Minister of India, Jawaharlal Nehru, and formally merge Dadra and Nagar Haveli with the Republic of India.

A Lieutenant Governor administers the territory, which covers an area of 188 sq mi or 487 km² and consists of two talukas:
  •    Dadra
  •    Nagar Haveli
Dadra is the headquarters of Dadra taluka, comprising Dadra town and two other villages.

Silvassa is the headquarters of Nagar Haveli taluka, comprising Silvassa town and 68 other villages.

Dadra and Nagar Haveli
Area 491 sq km
Population 3,42,853
Capital Silvassa
No. of Districts 1
Principal Language Gujarati, Hindi
Assembly seats None
Lok Sabha seats 1
Rajya Sabha seats None
Judiciary High Court of Bombay
at Mumbai


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>