Shares the Knowledge !

Daman and Diu

Daman and Diu is a union territory in India.

Marathi, Gujarati and English are the official and main languages.

Diu District, an area of 40 km². The main settlement is the town of Diu.

Daman District, an area of 72 km². The main settlement is the city of Daman.

For over 450 years, the coastal enclaves of Daman and Diu on the Arabian Sea coast were part of Portuguese India, along with Goa and Dadra and Nagar Haveli. Goa, Daman, and Diu were incorporated into the Republic of India on 19 December 1961, by military conquest; Portugal did not recognize the Indian annexation of these territories until 1974.

Goa, Daman, and Diu were administered as part of a single union territory until 1987, when Goa was granted statehood, leaving Daman and Diu as a separate union territory; each enclave constitutes one of the union territory's two districts.

Devaka beach in Daman and Nagoa beach in Diu attract visitors.

Daman and Diu
Area 112 sq. km
Population 2,42,911
Capital Daman
No. of Districts 2
Principal Language Gujarati
Assembly seats None
Lok Sabha seats 1
Rajya Sabha seats None
State Day High Court of Bombay
at Mumbai


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>