Shares the Knowledge !


Mizoram is a mountainous region which became the 23rd state of the Indian Union in February 1987.

It was one of the districts of Assam till 1972 when it became a Union Territory.

With the implementation of the North-Eastern Reorganisation Act in 1972, Mizoram became a Union Territory and as a sequel to the signing of the historic memorandum of settlement between the Government of India and the Mizo National Front in 1986, it was granted statehood on 20 February 1987.

Sandwiched between Myanmar in the east and the south and Bangladesh in the west, Mizoram occupies an area of great strategic importance in the north-eastern corner of India.

The origin of the word 'Mizo' is not known. The Mizos came under the influence of the British Missionaries in the 19th Century. Now most of the Mizos are Christians. Mizo language has no script of its own. The missionaries introduced the Roman script for the Mizo language and formal education.

Phawngpui Tlang also known as the Blue Mountain, situated in the south-eastern part of the state, is the highest peak in Mizoram at 2,210 metres.

Mizoram at glance

Area 21,081 sq. km
Population 10,91,014
Capital Aizawl
Districts 8
Main Language Mizo and English
Assembly seats 40
Lok Sabha seats 1
Rajya Sabha seats 1
State Day February 21



Post a Comment

Popular Posts