Shares the Knowledge !


Puducherry is a Union Territory of India.

It is a former French colony, consisting of four non-contiguous enclaves, or districts, and named for the largest, Pondicherry.

In September 2006, the territory changed its official name from Pondicherry to the vernacular original, Puducherry, which means "New village" in the Tamil language.

The territory is called "Pondichéry" in French. It is also known as The French Riviera of the East.

Puducherry consists of four small unconnected districts: Puducherry, Karaikal and Yanam on the Bay of Bengal and Mahé on the Arabian Sea.

Puducherry and Karaikal are by far the larger ones and are both enclaves of Tamil Nadu. Yanam and Mahé are enclaves of Andhra Pradesh and Kerala respectively.

The territory has a total area of 492 Puducherry (city) 293, Karaikal 160, Mahé 9 and Yanam 30

Area 479 sq km
Population 12,44,464
Capital Puducherry
No. of Districts 4
Principal Language Tamil, Telugu, Malayalam, English
and French
Assembly seats 30
Lok Sabha seats 1
Rajya Sabha seats 1
Judiciary High Court of Madras
at Chennai.
State Bird Koel
State Animal Squirrel
State Flower Cannonball Tree's flower
State Tree Bael Fruit Tree


Popular Posts