Shares the Knowledge !

Indian Navy

The Navy is responsible for the defence and security of India’s maritime interests and assets, both in times of war and peace.

The Chief of Naval Staff at the Naval headquarters, New Delhi, is assisted by four Principal Staff Officers, namely Vice-Chief of Naval Staff, Deputy Chief of Naval Staff, Chief of Personnel and Chief of Material.

On India attaining Independence, the Royal Indian Navy consisted of 32 ageing vessels suitable only for coastal patrol, along with 11,000 officers and men.

The senior officers were drawn from the Royal Navy, with R Adm ITS Hall, CIE, being the first Post-independence Commander-in-Chief.

The prefix 'Royal' was dropped on 26 January 1950 with India being constituted as a Republic.

The first Commander-in-Chief of the Indian Navy was Adm Sir Edward Parry, KCB, who handed over to Adm Sir Mark Pizey, KBE, CB, DSO in 1951.

Adm Pizey also became the first Chief of the Naval Staff in 1955, and was succeeded by V Adm SH Carlill, CB, DSO.

On 22 April 1958 V Adm RD Katari assumed office as the first Indian Chief of the Naval Staff. 

Indian Navy is headed by Chief of Navel Staff with headquarters at New Delhi.

He is assisted by Vice Chief of Naval Staff, Chief of Personnel, Chief of Material and Deputy Chief of Naval Staff.

The Navy is organised into following commands:-

S.No. Command Headquarter
Eastern command

Southern command

Western command


Each command is headed by a Flag Officer Commanding-inChief in the rank of Vice-Admiral.

Western Naval Command and Eastern Naval Command have under them, operational fleets,  i.e., Western and Eastern Fleet comprising warships, submarines, aircraft and other support ships.

Southern Naval Command is responsible for all training activities of the Indian Navy.

The Indian Navy is a well-balanced three-dimensional force consisting of sophisticated missile-capable warships, aircraft carriers, minesweepers, advanced submarines and the latest aircraft in its inventory.

Many of the warships are of indigenous design and have been constructed in Indian shipyards.  These ships compare well with the ships of similar capability constructed by the advanced countries.  The Naval forces are maintained and supported by modern dockyard facilities encompassing state-of-the-art technology.

At present the Navy has two major Naval bases at Mumbai and Visakhapatnam.

  1. Navy
  2. Admiral
  3. Vice Admiral
  4. Read Admiral
  5. Commodore
  6. Captain
  7. Commander
  8. Lt Commander
  9. Lieutenant
  10. Sub-Lieutenant

The Indian Navy is divided into the following broad categories
  • Administration 
  • Logistics and Material 
  • Training 
  • The Fleets 
  • The Naval Aviation and 
  • The Submarine Arm.
The Indian Navy has numerous training establishments at various places. 

The Indian Naval Academy is presently located in Ezhimala, near Kannur in Kerala State.

Naval Training Centers Place
INS Cilka Bhubaneshwar (Orrisa)
INS Circars Visakhapattanam (AP)
INS Hamla Malad, Mumbai (Maharashtra)
INS Mandovi Goa
INS Shivaji Lonawala (Maharashtra)
INS Valsura Jamnagar (Gujrat)
INS Venduruthy Kochi (Kerala)
Naval Academy Kochi
Navy Shipwright School Viskhapattanam (AP)
Sailor’s Training Establishment Dabolim (Goa)
Naval Gunnery School Kochi
Torpedo/Anti-Submarine School Kochi



Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>