Shares the Knowledge !

Vice Presidents of India

The Vice President of India is the second highest constitutional office in the Government of India after the President.

Article 63 of Indian Constitution states that "There shall be a Vice President of India." The Vice President acts as President in the absence of the president due to death, resignation, impeachment, or other situations.

In accordance with Article 65 of the Constitution of India, the vice president discharges the functions of the president when a contingency arises due to the resignation, removal, death, impeachment or the inability of the president to discharge their functions.

They are also the ex officio chairperson of the Rajya Sabha, the upper house of the Parliament of India.

The vice president is elected by an electoral college consisting of all the members of both houses of the Parliament in accordance with the system of proportional representation by means of the single transferable vote via a secret ballot conducted by the Election Commission of India.

Once elected the vice president continues in office for a five-year term, but can continue in office irrespective of the expiry of the term, until a successor assumes office. They can be removed by a resolution passed by an effective majority in the Rajya Sabha.

They are responsible for the protection of the rights and privileges of the members of the Council of States. They also decide whether a bill introduced in the Rajya Sabha is a financial bill or not.

The first vice president of India, Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan, took oath at Rashtrapati Bhavan on 13 May 1952. He later served as the president.

Krishna Kant has been the only one to die during his tenure.

On 11 August 2017, Venkaiah Naidu was sworn in as the 13th vice president of India.

The Vice President of India also acts as the Honourable Chancellor of Panjab University, Chandigarh.

List of Vice Presidents of India :

Name Period
Dr. Sarvepalli Radhakrishnan May 13, 1952 to May 12, 1962
Dr. Zakir Hussain May 13, 1962 to May 12, 1967
Varahagiri Venkata Giri May 13, 1967 to May 3, 1969
Gopal Swarup Pathak August 31, 1969 to August 30, 1974
Basappa Danappa Jatti August 31, 1974 to August 30, 1979
Muhammad Hidayat Ullah August 31, 1979 to August 30, 1984
Ramaswamy Venkataraman August 31, 1984 to July 27, 1987
Shankar Dayal Sharma September 3, 1987 to July 24, 1992
Kocheril Raman Narayanan August 21, 1992 to July 24, 1997
Krishan Kant August 21, 1997 to July 27, 2002
Bhairon Singh Shekhawat August 19, 2002 to 21 July 2007
Shri Mohd. Hamid Ansari 11th August 2007 to 11th August 2017
Venkaiah Naidu 11th August 2017 to (Incumbent)

Last updated on: 29/10/2019


Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>