Shares the Knowledge !

Awards - May 2011

Madheshiya wins 2011 Sony World Photography Awards. Indian photographer Amit Madheshiya has been named 'Arts and Culture Photographer of the Year' at the prestigious Sony World Photography Awards 2011.

Mumbai-based Madheshiya was one of 13 professional category winners presented with an award held at the ceremony at the Odeon in Leicester Square, London.

Best Five Star Hotel' for 2009-10. The Gateway Hotel here has been chosen by the Union Ministry of Tourism as the ‘Best Five Star Hotel' for 2009-10. 

The award was presented to Sanjeev Sharma, General Manager, at the National Tourism Awards ceremony held in New Delhi.

Rs. 1-cr. international Tagore award to be instituted

The Indian government has decided to institute a Rs. 1 crore award in the name of Nobel laureate Rabindranath Tagore on the occasion of the 150th anniversary of his birth.

The government of India has decided to institute a prestigious international award in the name of Rabindranath Tagore to recognise very distinguished contributions towards the promotion of international brotherhood and fraternity.

British-born Sierra Leonean novelist Aminatta Forna won the 2011 Commonwealth Writers' Prize for her novel, The Memory of Love.

SCOPE award for NMDC. President Pratibha Patil gave away the Commendation Certificate of SCOPE Meritorious Award for Corporate Social Responsibility and responsiveness for the year 2009-2010 to NMDC Director (personnel) G.B.Joshi in New Delhi.

Philip Roth was announced as the winner of the fourth Man Booker International Prize at a press conference at the Sydney Opera House on 18 May 2011. Roth was chosen from a list of 13 eminent contenders. 

American novelist Philip Roth is a literary giant and one of the worlds most prolific, celebrated - and controversial - writers. Born in March 1933 in New Jersey, Roth is best known for his 1969 novel Portnoy's Complaint, and for his late-1990s trilogy comprising the Pulitzer Prize-winning American Pastoral (1997), I Married a Communist (1998), and The Human Stain (2000). 

Angela Merkel chosen for Nehru Award for 2009. German Chancellor Angela Merkel has been chosen for the prestigious Jawaharlal Nehru Award for International Understanding for her enormous efforts toward sustainable and equitable development.

The award carries prize money of Rs.1 crore besides a trophy and citation.

Julian Assange awarded Sydney Peace Prize. WikiLeaks founder Julian Assange was awarded the Sydney Peace Foundation's top honour for “exceptional courage in pursuit of human rights”.

Mr. Assange, an Australian former computer hacker who is fighting extradition from Britain to Sweden over alleged sex crimes, was praised and rewarded with the Sydney Peace Prize's Gold Medal.

Professor Subhasis Chaudhuri of Indian Institute of Technology-Mumbai was selected for the prestigious G. D. Birla Award for Scientific Research

Prof. Chaudhuri who works in the Department of Electrical Engineering was chosen for the award for his important contributions in the area of electronic communications. The award, constituted by the K. K. Birla Foundation, carries a cash prize of Rs.1.50 lakh and is given to scientists below the age of 50.

Super 30 founder Anand Kumar, whose initiative helped several students from underprivileged families make it to the IIT-JEE was chosen for the Education in Excellence Award-2011 to be awarded on Doha on 13 May 2011. 

Cement Corporation of India was conferred the “Turn-around CPSE Award 2010”. CCI Chairman-cum-Managing Director Mr. R. P. Tak received the award on behalf of the Corporation.

The award was conferred on 11 selected PSUs which earned profits during the past three years on a sustained basis.

The Information and Broadcasting Ministry announced the list of awardees for the 58th National Film Awards on 19 May 2011. Feature Films jury was headed by J.P. Dutta, Non-Feature Films jury was headed by A.K. Bir and Best Writing on Cinema jury was headed by Ashok Vajpeyi. The jury decided on the awardees to honour the best work of Indian Cinema for the year 2010.

The list of the awardees in the different categories of the 57th National Film Awards is as follows: 

Best Feature Film: Adaminte Makan Abu directed by Salim Ahamed

Best Direction: Vetrimaran for Aadukalam (Tamil)

Best Actor: Dhanush for Aadukalam (Tamil) & Salim Kumar for Adaminte makan Abu (Malayalam)

Best Actress: Mitalee Jagtap Varadkar for Baboo Band Baaja (Marathi) & Saranya Ponvannan for Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru (Tamil)

Best Supporting Actor: J Thambi Ramaiah for Mynaa (Tamil)

Best Supporting Actress: Sukumari for Namma Gramam (Tamil)

Best Cinematography: Madhu Ambat for Adaminte Makan Abu

Best Screenplay Original: etrimaran for Aadukalam

Best Screenplay Adapted: Anant Mahadevan & Sanjay for Mee Sindhutai Sapkal (Marathi)

Best Editing: T E Kishore for Aadukalam

Best Music direction: Vishal Bhardwaj for Ishqiya & issak Thomas Kottakapally for Adaminte Makan Abu

Best Lyrics: Vairamuthu for Thenmerkku Paruvakkatru 

Best Male Playback Singer: Suresh Wadkar for Mee Sindhutai Sapkal

Best Playback Singer Female: Rekha Bhardwaj: Ishqiya

Best Special Effects: V. Srinivas & M Mohan for Enthiran (Tamil)

Special Jury Award: Mee Sindhutai Sapkal (Marathi) directed by Anant Narayan Mahadevan



Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>