Shares the Knowledge !

August 2017 Awards

  • Devendra, Sardar Singh selected for Khel Ratna award 
    Para Athlete Devendra and Hockey player Sardar Singh have been selected for this year's Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award. 

    Cricketer Cheteshwar Pujara, Women Cricketer Harmanpreet Kaur and shooter P. N. Prakash are among the 17 sportsmen who will be given Arjuna Awards for their outstanding performance. 

    Seven persons have been chosen for Dronacharya Awards for producing medal winners at prestigious International sports events. 

    They include late Dr. R. Gandhi in Athletics, Brij Bhushan Mohanty in Boxing and P.A. Raphel in the field of hockey. Dhyan Chand Award will be given to Bhupender Singh in Athletics, Syed Shahid Hakim in Football and Sumarai Tete in Hockey for their life time contribution to sports development. The awardees will receive their awards from the President Ram Nath Kovind in a special function at Rashtrapati Bhawan on 29th of this month. 

  • Thomas Kailath: The US-based Marconi Society, dedicated to furthering scientific achievements in communications and the Internet, has conferred its Lifetime Achievement Award on Stanford University professor, Thomas Kailath. 

    Kailath is Hitachi America Professor of Engineering, Emeritus, at Stanford University ( US) and he is the sixth recipient of the award in the Society’s 43-year history. Earlier recipients include Claude Shannon, the ‘Father of Information Theory’ and Gordon Moore of ‘Moore’s Law’ fame. 

    Kailath will receive his award at the annual Marconi Society Awards dinner in Summit, New Jersey on October 3, where another Indian, former Bell Labs President Arun Netravali, the ‘Father of Digital Video’, will be honoured with the $100,000 Marconi Prize. 

    The award recognises Kailath’s many contributions over six decades to information theory, communications, filtering theory, linear systems and control, signal processing, semiconductor manufacturing, probability and statistics, linear algebra, matrix and operator theory, which have directly or indirectly advanced modern communications technology. It also recognises his sustained mentoring and development of new generations of scientists. The Indian government conferred the Padma Bhushan on Prof Kailath in 2009. 

    Kailath earned a Bachelor’s degree in Telecommunications Engineering from the College of Engineering, Pune, in 1956. He then went to the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) in 1957. After his doctorate in electrical engineering in June 1961, the first Indian-born student to get one at MIT, he was invited by the late Prof. Solomon Golomb to join the pioneering Digital Communications Research Group at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory. 

  • KCR: Telangana Chief Minister K Chandrasekhara Rao has been selected for the Agriculture Leadership Award 2017, instituted by the Indian Council of Food and Agriculture. 

    A committee headed by eminent agricultural scientist M S Swaminathan has recommended KCR name. The award will be presented on September 5 in New Delhi. 

  • Magsaysay Awards 2017
    A former president of Japan's Sophia University was named one of six recipients of this year's Ramon Magsaysay Awards, also known as the Asian Nobel Prize. Yoshiaki Ishizawa is being recognised for his efforts to restore Cambodia's cultural monuments such as Angkor Wat. 

    The other recipients are Abdon Nababan of Indonesia, Gethsie Shanmugam of Sri Lanka, Tony Tay of Singapore, and Lilia de Lima and the Philippine Educational Theater Association of the Philippines. 

    Ishizawa began his involvement in the conservation effort when he first visited Angkor Wat in 1961 as a student, and he was instrumental in the 1989 launch of the Sophia University Angkor International Mission. 

    Nababan, 53, was awarded the honour for his advocacy on behalf of Indonesia's indigenous communities, the foundation said. Shanmugam, 82, was recognised for her efforts over four decades in building Sri Lanka's capacity for psychosocial support. 

    Singapore's Tay in 2003 organised "Willing Hearts," a volunteer-based, nonprofit organisation, to distribute hot meals to the needy, inspired by his late mother's charity work. 

    The Philippines' Lilia de Lima is being honoured for her leadership and building of the Philippine Economic Zone Authority from 1995 to 2015. 

    The Philippine Educational Theater Association was recognised for its "bold, collective contributions in shaping the theater arts as a force for social change." 

    Sharada: Popular Telugu Film Actress Sharada has been selected for 2017 Prem Nazir Award. The award will be presented to Sharada by Kerala state Devaswom Minister Kadakampally Surendran at a function at Chirayankeezhu on August 15, 2017. Actor T P Madhavan will also be presented Rs 50,000 cash award announced by Chirayankeezhu Panchayat. 

    The awardees will receive a certificate, a medallion, and a cash prize during a formal ceremony in Manila on Aug 31. At the awards ceremony, the recipients will receive a certificate, a medallion bearing the image of Magsaysay, and a cash prize. The 2017 recipients join 318 other Magsaysay laureates. 

    The award was created in 1957 in honour of former Philippine president Ramon Magsaysay, a figure known for his selfless service. He died in a plane crash in the central Philippines in 1957. 

  • Sharada: Popular Telugu Film Actress Sharada has been selected for 2017 Prem Nazir Award. The award will be presented to Sharada by Kerala state Devaswom Minister Kadakampally Surendran at a function at Chirayankeezhu on August 15, 2017. Actor T P Madhavan will also be presented Rs 50,000 cash award announced by Chirayankeezhu Panchayat.


Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>