Shares the Knowledge !

May 2017 Awards

  • Rohan Chakravarty: An Indian Wildlife and environment cartoonist won World Wide Fund for Nature (WWF) International President’s Award. The award ceremony was held in Manado, Indonesia. Chakravarty cartoons under the banner of Green Humour mainly emphasis on environmental issues honored with the award. 
  • ITC Limited: ITC Ltd has won the Porter Prize 2017 award for ‘Excellence in Corporate Governance and Integration’ and for its contribution in ‘Creating Shared Value’. The eponymous award was presented by Michael E Porter, the Harvard Business School Professor and a stalwart on competitive business strategies, to Sanjiv Puri, CEO and ED of ITC. Organised by the Institute for Competitiveness, the Porter Prize recognises corporates for their acumen in competitive strategies. 
  • Mark Zuckerberg: He is the founder of Facebook. He received an honorary doctorate degree from Harvard University. He dropped out of the Ivy League school to focus on Facebook. He started Facebook in his Harvard dorm room in 2004. 
  • VVS Laxman: Former India batsman V.V.S. Laxman has been elected an honorary life member of Marylebone Cricket Club (MCC). Laxman is to receive the honour after Sachin Tendulkar, Rahul Dravid, Sourav Ganguly and Zaheer Khan. Laxman played 134 Tests, 86 one-day internationals and 25 Twenty, 20 internationals for India. MCC was founded in the year 1787, There are more than 300 honorary life members of MCC. 
  • David Letterman: David Letterman has been named the next recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American humour, the award granted annually by the John F Kennedy Center for the Performing Arts. David is the longest-running host of late-night TV, is the 20th humorist to receive the prize, which began in 1998s. 
  • Aravind Kumar: Aravind Kumar, Assistant Professor, Department of Biomedical Engineering at IIT Hyderabad awarded the prestigious Indian National Science Academy (INSA) medal in the Young Scientist category for 2017. His research work was published in the journal of NANOSCALE (Impact factor 7.76) and ACS NANO LETTERS (Impact Factor: 13.78) which made him achieve the award. The INSA Young Scientist Medal award carries a bronze medal and a cash prize of Rs.25,000. 
  • Anil Dhave: Union Minister for Environment, Forests and Climate Change Anil Madhav Dave passed away after a cardiac arrest on 18th May. 
  • Reema Lagoo: Veteran actress Reema Lagoo, known for her performance in movies like "Hum Aapke Hain Koun" and "Kal Ho Na Ho", died due to a cardiac arrest on 18th May. 
  • 17th Annual New York Indian Film Festival AwardsThe 17th Annual New York Indian film festival took place from April 30-May 7, 2017. 

    Konkona Sensharma got an award for Best director for "A Death in Gunj" and best actress for the film 'Lipstick under My Burkha". Other awards include: 
    Best Films -
     Mukti Bhawan
    Best Actor - Kaladharan Malayalam film Ottayaal n Paatha 
    Best Documentary - An Insignificant Man
    Best Screenplay – Kammatipaddam
    Best Recordist For Final Mixed Track - Ventilator 
    Best Gujarati Film - Wrong Side Raju 
    Best Short Film - Aaba
    Best Child Actors - Colours of Innocence
    Special Mention - Adil Hussain (Hotel Salvation). 
  • Chandrababu Naidu: Andhra Pradesh Chief Minister Chandrababu Naidu has been selected for the 'Transformative Chief Minister Award' in recognition for his role in advancing the US-India partnership at the state level. 

    The award by the US-India Business Council would be presented to Naidu during the USIBC West Coast Summit in the Silicon Valley on May 8. 

    The summit will convene 150 industry leaders from sectors such as information technology, banking, food processing, healthcare, clean energy, digital payments, manufacturing and Government of India officials to explore the impacts of manufacturing in India, digitisation, India's move towards a cashless society and the future of the US-India trade relations. 

    Participants will discuss key issues such as how Internet of Things (IoTs), smart city planning, and manufacturing issues are shaping the future of the US-India technology partnership. 

    Led by USIBC chairman and Cisco Executive Chairman, John Chambers, the summit among others will feature Union Cabinet Minister for Food Processing Harsimrat Kaur Badal and Secretary, Ministry of Electronics and IT Aruna Sundararajan. 

    The summit will also honour Sundararajan with the 'Transformative Leadership Award' for excellence in public service and for her commitment to advancing US-India cooperation and Digital India. Last year's recipient for this award was Amitabh Kant, CEO of Niti Aayog. 
  • The Black Prince' awarded at film fest in HoustonHollywood film The Black Prince, featuring singer-poet Satinder Sartaaj and veteran actress Shabana Azmi, was awarded the Special Jury Remi Award at the 50th annual Worldfest-Houston International Film Festival (WHIFF). The film is a historic biopic on the poignant life story of the last king of Punjab - Maharajah Duleep Singh. The film is Directed by Kavi Raj. 
  • Rajiv Kaul: Chairman of Nicco group and past president of Confederation of Indian Industry (CII), Rajive Kaul was conferred with the Order of Diplomatic Service Merit Sungnye Medal of the Republic of Korea for his services rendered as honorary consul general of South Korea in Kolkata. 

    The award was conferred by the acting President and Prime Minister of South Korea Hwang Kyo-ahn at a programme in New Delhi recently.


Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>