Shares the Knowledge !

September 2017 Awards

  • CNR Rao: Eminent Scientist and Bharat Ratna Prof C.N.R. Rao awarded as 2017 Von Hippel Award, the highest international prize in materials research. The award will be presented to Prof Rao for his interdisciplinary contributions to the development of novel functional materials, including nanomaterials graphene, superconductivity, 2D materials and colossal magnetoresistance at Boston. He is an eminent scientist and world’s foremost solid state and materials chemists. He has worked mainly in solid-state and structural chemistry. The award recognizes those qualities most prized by materials scientists and engineers brilliance and originality of intellect, combined with vision. 
  • D Roopa: In Karantaka, former DIG D Roopa, who highlighted in a report alleged irregularities at the Central jail in Bengaluru, including preferential treatment to AIADMK leader V K Sasikala, was on 17th September conferred the President's Medal. The award was presented to Roopa for her meritorious service by Governor Vajubhai Vala. 
  • Zannah Mustapha: For educating Boko Haram Victims, a Nigerian, Mr Zannah Mustapha, the Director, Future Prowess Islamic Foundation School, has won the UN High Commission for Refugees (UNHCR) 2017 Nansen Refugees Award. Mr Mustapha will be presented with his award at ceremony in the Swiss city of Geneva on 2 October. 
  • Prakash Padukone: The renowned Indian Badminton legend Prakash Padukone has been selected for the first life time award by Badminton Association of India. The award carries cash prize of 10 lakh rupees with a citation which will be presented to him at New Delhi very soon. 

    Padukone had won the 1980 All England, besides bagging a bronze at the 1983 World Championship in Copenhagen. He also won a gold medal at the 1978 Commonwealth Games. He was bestowed with the Arjuna award in 1972 and the Padma Shri in 1982. 
  • Salman Khan: Salman Khan received a Global Diversity Award at Britain’s House of Commons. The Global Diversity Award is given to people of immense stature in terms of diversity in the world, and he is certainly one of them. The Being Human NGO is run by the Salman Khan. 
  • KT Rama Rao: Minister for IT and Industries, Telangana KT Rama Rao will be honoured with the ‘SKOCH IT Minister of the Year Award’. He will be conferred the award at a ceremony scheduled to take place during the 49th SKOCH Summit on September 9 in New Delhi. SKOCH, since 2003, has been conducting independent assessment of States and it is the only time-line study compiled as ‘Annual Smart Governance Map of India’ available in the country. 
  • Hyderabad Airport: Hyderabad International Airport Limited bagged the National Award for ‘Excellence’ in Energy Management at a conference hosted by the Confederation of Indian Industry. GMR Hyderabad International Airport Limited (GHIAL) is a company promoted as a joint venture comprising the GMR Group (63%) in partnership with Government of India (13%), Government of Telangana (13%) and Malaysia Airports Holdings Berhad (11%). The event focused on recognizing companies that are engaged in energy efficiency initiatives and displaying commitment towards energy conservation. 
  • GIFT City: India’s first operational Smart City and IFSC, Gujarat International Finance-Tec City (GIFT City) won the prestigious Associated Chambers of Commerce and Industry of India (ASSOCHAM) Services Excellence Award. 

    It was honored for its contribution to the growth of the International Financial Services and Technology Hub in India. 

    GIFT City, India’s first International Financial Services Centre (IFSC), is operational with approximately 10 leading banks, 2 international exchanges (India INX and NSE IFSC), around 100 capital market players and 8 insurance companies having established their operations. 
  • Raja Mouli: SS Rajamouli has been chosen for the Akkineni Nageswara Rao (ANR) National Award 2017, instituted by the Akkineni International Foundation. 
  • Sitaram: The Telangana state government has announced the Kaloji award for the year 2017. Famous poet Sitharam has been declared award winner. Prior to him, Venu Gopal in 2015 and R Goretti Venkanna in 2016 won this award.


Post a Comment

Upsc - Civils Preparation

Exam Strategy
Tips and Tricks
Preparation and Guidance
Optional Subjects - Preparation
Optional Subjects - Guidance
Many more >>

Bank Exams Preparation

Bank, Currency, Money, RBI,
Budget, Planning, Stock Exchange
Insurance, Taxation, International Organizations
Economic Issues, Fiscal Policy, Committee or Commissions
Many more >>

Computer Knowledge

History, Generations, Terminology
Hardware, Software, Internet
Networks, Shortcut Keys
Many more >>

Interview Preparation

General Do's and Don'ts in Interview
Entry and Dressing up
How to prepare?, Qualities judged
Many more >>